2012 Writing To-Do (For Accountability)

There are certain things I want to accomplish within the next year (related to my writing), so I’m putting them out there in hopes of warranting accountability. When I look back on this list a year from now, maybe I’ll actually have them done…

Here goes nothing:

  1. Complete at least one manuscript. This includes all character charts, outlines, drafts, self-editing, peer-editing, proofing, etc.
  2. Attract an agent. Sounds like I need some pheromone spray. Ha! I only wish it was that simple. Although I am aware of how to get an agent, it all comes down to the follow-through.
  3. Publish my novel. Since I refuse to self-publish, this might prove to be a tough-y, but it’ll get done (with a little luck and a lot of persistence).
  4. Attend three writer’s conferences or workshops. This comes down to the money, honey.
  5. Become a member of RWA. Easy enough, right? But here again, it’s all about the follow-through…and the money, honey.

Hopefully I’m not overlooking any steps that will throw a kink in my plan of action. Now, as long as Life doesn’t hog all the attention, I’ll be doing pretty darn good. 😉

What do you think? Am I way off base? Am I setting the bar too high, too low, or just right?

Categories: Musings, Writing | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “2012 Writing To-Do (For Accountability)

  1. It’s always nice to setup goals and forget about them. It’s even better when the goals are level-headed and easily achieved. However, your first goal, I hope you’re referring to a rough draft; it would be much easier to complete in a single twelve-month period. Take your time and do it right; whatever that may entail.

    As for attracting an agent, I will say, ‘Do what works for you.’ There are many authors who attracted an agent only after they had been published; others who found it easier to be published with an agent. Do some research to figure out what’s available before you rush through the whole process. Then, do what seems the best choice, based on the information you’ve gathered.

    By this time next year, I’m sure that list will have a couple items added to it, which will also have a check beside them. Push forward.

    • Yep, I was referring to a rough draft. I suppose I won’t know what works for me until I try one way or the other. I’m not quite that far yet, though. You’re right; I have to do my research. These things take time, as I’m quickly finding out (and not everyone understands this concept).

      Thanks again for the support. We, writers, can always use it. I hope by the time I get to the publishing (of my book) stage, it won’t be such a “dog-eat-dog” world. 😉

  2. Hi, Stacie,

    Firstly, thank you for following my blog, it might motivate me to post more often. 🙂

    As for your list – you don’t know what you’re capable of until you try. Even if you fail to accomplish some/any/all, you’ll have learned how not to do something or at least how much time it takes to do something. It’s all about the journey and your enthusiasm shines through.

    My list is simple: Keep writing. Good luck with yours.

    • Hi, Sandra,

      You’re welcome, and thank you for noticing my enthusiasm. 🙂

      Great advice. At this point, I’m simply refusing to fail. It’s not that I think I won’t fail, believe me. It’s because if I do fail, this time I won’t give up.

      But who knew writing a book would take SO MUCH TIME, and who knew it wasn’t just as simple as being able to tell a good story. I’m sure there is a lot I have yet to learn, but I’m enjoying the ride.

      Good luck to you as well.

  3. Mandi

    Just right 😉 you have a plan so get to it

  4. Thank you! 🙂

  5. Best of luck to you in your writing endeavors!

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

