Holy Crap, I Actually Did It

As you know, I started my blog to share my journey through the writing world. Along the way, I hoped to inspire and encourage others. What do you know–just two months in and I’ve done it!

I’ve just been nominated for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award by Kathi Alf. It truly is an honor to know that I’ve inspired such a talented girl. A teenager herself, Kathi works to motivate other teens to set goals and follow through with them. I believe she’s destined for great things. Thank you so much, Kathi. Be sure to check out her blog!

The Very Inspiring Blogger Award is given by bloggers, for bloggers. To accept the award, I (the nominee) must:

  1. Link back to the person who nominated me.
  2. Post the award image to my page.
  3. Tell seven facts about myself.
  4. Nominate 10 other blogs.
  5. Let them know they are nominated.

Seven Facts About Stacie Brown

  • Coupons are my friends. I coupon not only to save money and get free stuff, but also to build my stockpile for when the world ends. Ok, I’m only joking about that last part. I don’t think the world is going to end, but I do like to be ready for anything. Should a natural or manmade disaster ever happen in my neck of the woods, my family and I will have plenty of toothpaste, toilet paper, and tampons.
  • I’m not a very good cook. My dad used to say I didn’t know how to boil water. These days, I’m not a total loss in the kitchen. As long as I have the recipe, ALL of the ingredients, and my mom on speed-dial, I can usually figure it out. Besides, I can make a mean sandwich and, if all else fails, I stockpiled plenty of Hamburger Helper.
  • I am a twin. Although my sister and I are fraternal twins, we do get mistaken for identical twins at times. We go through stages where we’ll look exactly alike for a time, and the next thing you know, we’ll only appear distantly related. Our personalities are completely different and we differ in our ways of viewing the world. Yes, we did have a “twin language” as young children. I can still remember a few words/phrases. And yes, we do sometimes “get the feeling” that something might be happening with the other one, a sort of ESP. Just now, as I reviewed this post, she called me to say hi. I guess she had a feeling I was writing about her.
  • I was born three months premature. Weighing in at 2 lbs. 13 oz., it’s hard to believe I made it to see 27. Looking at my newborn pictures–the six-inch long teddy bear laying next to me blocking over half of my little body and tubes sticking out in all directions–makes me grateful to be alive and even more thankful for my wonderful family.
  • I don’t know my biological father. He skipped out when my sister and I were less than a year old. All he ever gave us was a box of clothes and his last name. We made it just fine without him, though. Mom married my Dad when we were five and he spent the rest of his life being the best father a girl could ever hope for. Dad died when we were in high school.
  • I value love and family over money and fame. Enough said? I hope so.
  • I’m country down to my boots and genes. Since immigrating to America from Germany in the 1800s (and possibly before then), my mother’s side of the family bled farming and ranching (and shoemaking, believe it or not). These hard-working, genuine, and honest people’s blood runs through my veins. I’m so proud of where I’m from. There can be no present without the past.

And here they are, the people who have inspired me throughout this process. Drumroll, please.

Nominations for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award

Check them out. Maybe a little of their very-inspiring-blogger-ness will rub off on you, or at least on your clothes.

Categories: Musings, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Holy Crap, I Actually Did It

  1. Pingback: 19 Days ’til 40: Blog Award Thank-Yous « 400 Days 'til 40

  2. Audrey Wick

    Congratulations on the award nomination! I wasn’t aware of such an award (but, then again, I’ve very new when it comes to learning about things in the blogging world), but–indeed!–what an honor to get that from someone after such a short time writing!

    I continue to enjoy reading your posts and am glad to see you have the enthusiasm, time, and dedication to write. 🙂 Keep it up!

    Hope your summer went well. Will I see you on campus this fall, or are you back to an online-only schedule?

    • Thank you, Ms. Wick. You might see me on campus, if I have to take any exams there. Yes, I’m back to online-only this semester.

      Their are several blogging awards, most are given by other WordPress users, but some are given by WordPress themselves. I think they came about to drive traffic to sites, but they are fun and rewarding nonetheless.

      As always, thanks for reading!

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

