Liebster Blog Award

I’ve been honored again, this time by Molly Field at Grass Oil for the Liebster Blog Award. Thank you so much; I do not hate you!

Molly is such a great person. If you read my previous post, you know that I nominated her for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award because of her awesomeness. Her tag line reads:

“my youngest son, Thing 3, uttered “Grass Oil” one night to describe what i made for dinner. what is the Grass Oil blog? my observations about life from my cheap seats where everyone looks like ants. i’m funny, candid and i try to be nice, with some snark for flavor. Grass Oil: simple. random. elegant. there it is.”

Yep, there it is. Molly makes me want to be a more creative writer, a better blogger, and a more candid person. Definitely check out her page!

As far as the award itself, I couldn’t help but be curious about its origins after seeing this same name on another slightly different award. After much research and many blogs later (and before finally giving up), I found some information which I’d like to share with you, if you are curious too.

About the Liebster Blog Award

Apparently, there is only one Liebster Blog Award, but it’s masquerading as two. Each of them lists different requirements and includes different pictures, but they are actually one in the same. I’m sad to report that I wasn’t able to find its exact origin, nor the exact time that this transformation occurred, before chalking it up to a lost cause. After wading through hundreds of blogs (including XXX and blood and gore blogs) and reaching dead-ends on discontinued blogs, I gave up. I gave it my best shot, but I’m working with a limited amount of time here, people.

One thing that I can tell you with certainty is the origin and definition of the word “liebster.” According to Google Translate, “liebster” is a German word meaning “dearest.” According to others that have received this blog (including some Germans), it can include other meanings such as sweetest, kindest, nicest, beloved, lovely, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, welcome, and darling.

The Liebster Blog Award is traditionally (if you call “traditionally” since about 2010) given to up-and-coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. I will do my best to follow the rules. For those of you who don’t wish to take part, don’t worry–I totally get it. But I enjoy these things nonetheless, so I’m going for it. However, I may feel differently as time goes on…

Read on for the rules, the facts, the answers, the questions, and the nominations.

The Rules

  1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
  2. Answer the 11 questions the person giving the award has set for you.
  3. Create 11 questions for the people you will be giving the award to.
  4. Choose 11 people to award and send them a link to your post. Go to their page and tell them.
  5. No tag backs.

11 Facts About Me

  1. My favorite holiday is Christmas. It’s about family. It’s about love. It’s about giving back. It’s about being grateful. And who doesn’t like presents?
  2. I do not know the name of my favorite color. It’s somewhere between teal, turquoise, and blue. These colors do not adequately convey my absolute favorite. It’s entirely possible that I’m being too picky.
  3. I don’t like the changing seasons. It never fails, when fall and spring get here, my allergies attack and my sinuses plot to kill me. The irony–these are my favorite seasons.
  4. I love school. I’m not just saying this because two of my professors read my blog. I love learning, and I like to think I make “nerd” look sexy.
  5. I’ve watched The Lorax more times than I care to count. I sing all the songs; I have my son to thank for that. But he covered my mouth with his hand the other day. Obviously, he wasn’t impressed with my singing voice.
  6. I was 100% against children under two watching TV. Until I had a toddler.
  7. I’m terrified of buzzing insects. Ever since a swarm of honey bees “attacked” me when I was very young, I get outta dodge when any buzzing insect approaches my vicinity. Last week, a flying, buzzing, black blur whizzed by my face. I about pooped my pants before I realized it was just a hummingbird.
  8. I’m curious. It’s often misconstrued as being nosy, but, really, I don’t care about what people are doing. I’m more concerned with finding common ground, learning new things, or gaining more information on an interesting topic.
  9. I believe complete ignorance is bliss. If you know the slightest bit of anything, forget about bliss. Your destiny is to want to know more and, therefore, to get stuck in a vicious never-ending cycle of discontent.
  10. I have an uncanny knack for driving my fiancé nuts. He just told me so.
  11. I drive the loudest vehicle on the planet. When I’m driving and I get between 55 and 60 MPH, and then again between 65 and 70 MPH, my son covers his ears because the noise is almost unbearable to him. I’m pretty sure rocket engines aren’t any louder. If you see me on the Farm to Market roads never going over 55 MPH, you’ll know why. Just pass me already.

My 11 Questions to Answer

  1. Are you a dog, bird or cat person? Why? I’m more of a horse person (even though I don’t own any horses) because I spent most of my early childhood at my grandparents’ farm and ranch where any number of horses were kept for working cattle. They are such great animals–smart, graceful, beautiful. But, I’d really characterize myself as an “animal person” who likes all species equally for their unique characteristics. Except for bees. I hate bees.
  2. Favorite ice cream presentation: hard packed or soft serve? Cake cone or sugar cone? Mmmm….ice cream.
  3. Favorite time of day: dawn or eventide? Since I usually miss dawn, I’d have to say eventide. Although, I would prefer dawn if I was not such an awful morning person.
  4. What do you like most in others? Honesty and sincerity.
  5. What is the most frustrating part of your craft? The words. Ha!
  6. What do you do for exercise? We had this discussion already, but for the folks that don’t know–I think exercise is a dirty word.
  7. What is your favorite personal quality in yourself? Practicality.
  8. Is where you are right now in your life where you expected to be? Heck no. I thought I’d have a degree, be married, and have five kids by now.
  9. What would you change, if you could, about your life per your answer above? I’d be lying if I said I wouldn’t change a thing, so I’d say I would have used the scholarship offered to me right out of high school and gotten a degree sooner. But then, maybe I wouldn’t have gotten to know my fiancé (who, at that time, was just an acquaintance) and maybe we wouldn’t have had our son. Life’s funny like that.
  10. What is the greatest sorrow you have experienced? It’s a toss-up between my dad passing away, my grandpa passing away, and the hours after my son’s birth when he was flown to another hospital because mine wasn’t yet equipped to handle newborn breathing difficulties. Don’t worry; my son is healthy as horse now.
  11. What is your greatest joy? My son, even when he’s being impossible. It’s true. Disciplining him is so difficult because he makes me laugh when I want to be stern. I’m such a terrible faker.

My Questions for the Future Liebsters

  1. What would you change about humanity, if you could?
  2. What kind of relationship do you/did you have with your parent(s) or guardian(s)?
  3. What is the cutest or most unpredictable thing you have ever seen a child do?
  4. How do you think the world will have changed by the year 2050?
  5. What is the most frustrating part of your craft?
  6. Do you believe in love at first sight? Why or why not?
  7. What kind(s) of books do you like to read?
  8. Who is your idol and why?
  9. If you were a billionaire, how would you use your money?
  10. What do you like to do for fun?
  11. Where is your favorite place and why is it your favorite?

11 People I’m Awarding

Congratulations! I look forward to reading your replies, if you choose to participate. If not, that’s ok, too. I forgive you, if you forgive me for sending a fun, but time-consuming, likeness of a chain letter. Happy Blogging!

Categories: Musings, Writing | Tags: , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award

  1. Pingback: The Grinning Skull is nominated for a Liebster Blog award! « The Grinning Skull

  2. Pingback: Euzicasa: My first Liebster Blog Award | euzicasa

  3. Pingback: AWARDS: Sunshine and Liebster Awards…MyLIFEin24Hours style! « MyLIFEin24Hours

  4. Congratulations to you and thank you so much for the nomination!!! Keep up the great work!

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

